Views: 0 Author: Site Editor Publish Time: 2026-09-29 Origin: Site
The listing titled “2023 roll former vs 150 standing seam panel machine” refers to a 2023 VS-150 panformer made by Roll Former LLC. “VS-150” is one model name; this is not a comparison between a 2023 machine and a separate “150” machine.
For a roofing contractor or panel shop, the useful distinction is between what the VS-150 model can do, what the seller says comes with this particular unit, and what a trial with your panel specification would prove. The published specifications establish a starting point, not the installed die set or the condition of the listed machine.
FBI Supply Outlet advertises a 2023 Roll Former VS-150 with an ESE decoiler and welded aluminum risers inside a 2025, 12-foot aluminum Nitro trailer. That is the seller’s package, not equipment supplied with every VS-150. Its page gives no serial number, installed optional-die inventory, operating hours or service history.
Advertised package and unit-specific checks | ||
Package element | What FBI advertises | What to confirm on this unit |
|---|---|---|
VS-150 panformer | 2023 model label | Serial number, nameplate, service history and installed dies |
Coil handling | ESE decoiler and welded aluminum risers | Part IDs, mounting, operation and what transfers with the sale |
Transport | 2025, 12-foot aluminum Nitro trailer | Trailer ID, loaded dimensions, weight and towing requirements |
Optional tooling and controls | No installed option list | Itemized dies, controller and seamer accessories, if any |
On September 29, 2026, the FBI page displayed a $76,000 price and “In stock.” The site says its displayed prices are for pickup and freight can be arranged at additional cost. Both availability and price need a fresh check before a purchase decision.
A separate KD Machinery page also advertises a 2023 VS-150 with a Nitro trailer. KD calls its unit used and says buyers can see it run under power. The public pages do not provide matching serial numbers, so KD’s used status and demonstration offer should not be assumed to apply to the FBI listing.
Source pages checked September 29, 2026: FBI Supply Outlet’s “2023 Roll Former VS 150 Standing Seam Panel Machine”; KD Machinery’s “2023 Roll Former VS-150”; and Roll Former LLC’s “VS-150 Standing Seam Panformer with Hydraulic Drive and Shear.” None documents an inspection of the FBI unit.
Roll Former LLC lists hydraulic drive, a front scissors shear, 1-inch and 1½-inch standing-seam profiles, and U-panels for the base VS-150. Mechanical lock and U-panel are standard. The OEM’s seven-profile capability depends on the specified optional tooling; it is not an inventory list for the 2023 unit.
Base VS-150 functions and optional equipment | ||
Function or profile | Published OEM status | Status on the FBI unit |
|---|---|---|
Hydraulic drive, front shear; mechanical-lock and U-panel profiles | Base machine | Seller does not identify installed roll sets |
Snap Lock, SOP-15, Bermuda and batten dies | Optional tooling | Installed die set not stated |
Digital controller and powered seamers | Optional accessories | Not stated as included |
Request photographs or part numbers for installed roll sets and loose tooling. A swap-capable machine cannot form a requested snap-lock or batten panel unless the matching dies are supplied and fitted.
Match the roof-system cross-section before checking seam height. Male and female legs, returns, clips and finished lock must fit the installed dies and any field seamer. Two “1½-inch standing seam” panels can have different joints. BMS’s discussion of metal roof panel seamer compatibility explains why the project drawing controls this comparison.
Published VS-150 ratings and the buyer's matching check | ||
Specification | Roll Former LLC publishes | Check against the actual job and unit |
|---|---|---|
Panel width | Adjustable 9–24 inches | Required finished coverage width and installed die set |
Coil material | 24–26 ga painted steel; 0.032-inch aluminum; 12–20 oz copper | Specified alloy, condition, thickness and representative coil sample |
22 ga painted steel | Only with an optional mechanical-lock profile | Confirm that option is installed before using this rating |
Electrical supply | Description says 110 volt, one phase; table says 120V AC | Actual nameplate voltage, phase and current at the worksite |
Forming speed | 40 FPM nominal | Observed usable panels per hour, changeover and handling time |
OEM ranges describe a model, not each installed die set. Run the specified coil at the required finished width. Treat 40 FPM as forming speed; use observed panels per hour for output. Because the OEM page says both 110V single-phase and 120V AC, plan power from the actual nameplate.
A rollformer’s dimensions also do not establish a roof system’s structural or weather performance. The Metal Construction Association’s roof-seaming guide ties equipment selection to the specified panel system and installation instructions. Keep the applicable project documents with the machine trial.
Ask the seller for the serial number, nameplate and an itemized die list before discussing output. The 2023 label alone cannot describe wear, installed options or setup. Agree on the representative panel and coil before arranging an under-power demonstration.
Set the test conditions: give the operator the project cross-section, target coverage width and coil specification; use the installed dies and OEM operating instructions.
Form and shear several panels. Measure seam-leg geometry, width, length, cut edge, surface marks and repeatability against the project drawing.
Record usable panels per hour, changeover time, handling crew and feed/runout space under the demonstrated conditions; keep a labeled sample.
Match machine serial and nameplate to the offer; photograph installed roll sets and any loose optional dies, controller and seamer accessories.
Request operating hours and maintenance records if available; have qualified personnel inspect guarding, shear controls and hydraulic condition.
Confirm decoiler and loaded-trailer dimensions, weight, towing requirements and ownership documents from the actual package.
Write down what transfers with the sale, the service needed and the seller's demonstration conditions.
The Metal Construction Association’s portable rollformer guidance covers setup, inspection and maintenance. It cannot replace the VS-150 manual or certify this unit. A measured sample can reveal wrong dies or damaging adjustment before the model’s nominal capacity drives the purchase.
If the buyer is considering the KD and FBI advertisements together, ask each seller for the serial number and trailer identification before combining any terms. KD advertises an under-power viewing; the FBI page does not make the same promise. Arrange the demonstration and record its conditions with the seller of the unit actually being purchased.
Compare the listed VS-150 and a newly configured machine against the same panel drawing, coil and worksite. A seller’s displayed machine price is only one line of the equipped delivered cost. The listed unit becomes a viable route when its installed dies, sample output, site setup and sale terms meet that shared specification.
Two purchase routes, evaluated on the same job | ||
Decision axis | Advertised 2023 VS-150 | New BMS configuration request |
|---|---|---|
Panel joint and width | Demonstrate the required joint and coverage from installed dies | Specify the same section drawing, width and sample-acceptance criteria |
Coil and site power | Run the intended coil; confirm the unit's nameplate supply | Request written material range and electrical supply for the quoted line |
Production workflow | Observe usable output, changeover, handling and trailer/runout setup | Request a layout, output conditions and an acceptance run for the proposed line |
Delivered scope and support | Itemize tooling, decoiler, trailer, freight, service and sale terms | Itemize dies, accessories, delivery, commissioning and support terms |
If the listed machine cannot meet the required joint, coil, output or site power, request a new line around those same inputs. BMS lists standing seam roll forming machines, including 1-inch multi-profile equipment. Its category page alone cannot prove VS-150 profile interchangeability. Send the section drawing, coil data, width, target output and available power for a sample plan.
For a mechanically seamed roof, include a compatible electric seamer in the equipment discussion when the system requires field locking. Match its rollers to the exact panel joint. Keep the sample output, dies, delivery scope and support terms in the written quote.
No. The panformer shapes the panel edges; a compatible field seamer closes the installed joint when the roof system calls for mechanical seaming. Match the seamer, clips and finished lock to the roof-system instructions before treating the equipment package as complete.
The 12-foot figure describes the advertised trailer, not a published finished-panel length limit. Ask the seller for the exact machine and trailer layout, then trial the intended panel length with enough feed, runout and handling space at your site.
No. A sample shows what the tested die, coil and setup produced; it does not establish the roof system’s structural or weather performance. Have the project designer or system provider confirm the required profile, clips, seamer, material and applicable approval documents before production.
Use the project drawing to identify the required joint. Compare it with the 2023 machine’s actual dies and a representative sample. Verify the serial number, delivered scope and seller terms before deciding. If that setup misses the job, request a new configuration against the same specification.
Email BMS at info@rollformingmill.com with your panel cross-section, material and thickness, target output and available power to discuss a matching new machine configuration.